Back to News

Fond Farewells and Warm Welcomes: Board of Trustees Transitions 

Suzanne Schutte and Executive Director Olken smile together at an event

After more than 20 years of serving Gateway, Founder and Trustee Suzanne Schutte is stepping down from Gateway’s Board of Trustees to spend time with her family. In 1997, Suzanne and Gateway’s six other founding parents sat around a kitchen table and imagined a school that could be a laboratory, where research about learning and teaching could be implemented and honed into practices that could be shared with other schools. They believed that public schools could and should better serve a wide range of learners and when Gateway High School opened its doors one year later, that dream became a reality.

Of her Gateway experience, Suzanne said:

“So much has changed since we started the journey. However, what really matters has not changed. Gateway continues to support all kids so they can thrive. It is a place where thoughtful, committed, creative teachers work so hard every single day to know and meet the needs of each and every student.  Every year since 1998, our students have been remarkably successful. I leave this board confident that in the years to come our seniors will continue to be prepared for college and successful lives.”

Also stepping down from the board are class of 2004 alum Aaron White, and alumni parents Jackie Quella and Adina Safer. We extend our most sincere thanks to Suzanne, Aaron, Jackie and Adina for their vision, perseverance and critical guidance. While their time as trustees may be completed, all four will remain valued members of the Gateway community for many years to come.

This past year, we were excited to welcome Katie Colley and Kevin Rafter to our board and re-welcome 10th grade parent Cynthia Fletcher Billops, back to the board. For the 2019-2020 school year, alumni parent Sharon Gillenwater will join Susan Masto as Gateway’s board co-chair, and Sapna Boze will be stepping down as co-chair after serving for two years in the position.

We thank our trustees both past and present for their commitment to our students and look forward to an exciting 2019-20 academic year!

List of Trustees